
 
 
 
 

State of Kansas 
Department of Administration 
Division of Accounts & Reports 
AR-98  (Rev.06-07) 

A & R USE ONLY 
 
Claim No. ____________________________________ 

 
 

PERSONAL INJURY OR PROPERTY DAMAGE OR LOSS CLAIM 
AGAINST THE STATE OF KANSAS 

  
 
INSTRUCTIONS 
 
 1. Read the "Notice to Claimant" section prior to completing the form. 
 2. Complete the requested information in the "Claimant Information" and "Claim Information" sections of the form. 
 3. Have the claim statement notarized. 
 4. Return the completed form to the agency that you are filing the claim against. 
  
 
NOTICE TO CLAIMANT

 
Personal injury or property damage or loss claims may be paid by a state agency if the claim amount does not exceed $1,000.00 

(or $2,500.00 at the University of Kansas Medical Center and the Kansas Highway Patrol), the injury or damage did not occur as a result of 
negligence of the claimant, and either (1) the property damage or loss was by a state officer or employee and was incurred while the claimant 
was acting within the scope of employment; or (2) the personal injury or property damage or loss was incurred by the claimant as a result of 
negligence on the part of the state or any agency, officer or employee thereof; or (3) the personal injury or property damage or loss was 
caused by an act of a homemaker employed by the Secretary of Social and Rehabilitation Services; or (4) the personal injury or property 
damage or loss occurred during law enforcement efforts by the Kansas Highway Patrol to persons who were not negligent during such efforts. 
 

The acceptance by the claimant of any payment made pursuant to this claim shall be final and conclusive and shall constitute a 
complete release of any and all existing and future claims for personal injury or property damage or loss against the agency named, the State 
of Kansas and any individual, employee or agent thereof arising from the stated event.  Said acceptance shall be binding on all heirs, 
successors, or assigns. 
  
 
CLAIMANT INFORMATION (Please Print or Type) 
 
Name _______________________________________ Tax ID No. (SSN or FEIN) __________________________________ 
 
Address _______________________________________ Telephone Number  (         )                                       
 

_______________________________________ 
 

_______________________________________ 
. 
 
  
 
CLAIM INFORMATION
 
1. Enter the name of the agency you are filing the claim against and the total amount of the claim. 
 
 

Agency Name _____________________________________________ Total Claim Amount ______________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 (Continued on Reverse Side of Form) 
 
 



Claim Information Continued
 
2. Please briefly state the basis of your claim including the date, time, location and circumstances of the event.  Attach any 

documents which you feel may be pertinent to your claim, including an itemization of the amount for which you are claiming 
(indicate deductions for insurance reimbursements, depreciation, etc.). Note: The claim statement must be notarized. Sign the 
claim statement in the presence of a notary public.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I do solemnly, sincerely, and truly declare and affirm that I have read the preceding claim and know the contents thereof and the same 
are true and correct; and this I do under the pains and penalties of perjury. 
 
 

Claimant Signature ______________________________________________ 
 
 
STATE OF  ______________________________) 
 
COUNTY OF ______________________________) 
 
 

Signed and sworn to (or affirmed) before me on (date) ______________________________ by  
 

______________________________________. 
(Name of Person Making Declaration) 

 
 
 
 
 
 

___________________________________________  
(Notary Public)         

 
(My Appointment Expires: ____________________________ ) 



AR-98 FORM COMPLETION INSTRUCTIONS 
 

The claimant completes the following information: 
  

1. Name - The Claimant's name. 
  

2. Address - The claimant's address. 
  

3. Tax ID No. -The claimant's social security number if the claimant is an individual or the 
federal employer identification number if the claimant is a business or other entity. 
 

4. Telephone Number - A telephone number, including area code, where the claimant can be 
reached during the day. 

  
5. Agency Name - The name of the state agency that the claim is being filed against. 

  
6. Total Claim Amount - The total amount being claimed for reimbursement by the claimant. 

  
7. Claim Statement - A brief description of the event that occurred including the date, time, 

location, and circumstances which indicate that the state was negligent. The statement 
should also include an itemized claim listing and any other documentation that would 
support the claim. 

  
8. Claimant Signature - The claimant's signature. The claimant must sign the form in the 

presence of a Notary Public. 
  

9. "State of" and "County of" - The state and county where the AR-98 is being notarized. 
  

10. Notary Public Certification - Enter the date the form is presented to the Notary Public and 
the claimant's name in the spaces indicated. 

  
The Notary Public completes the following information: 

  
11. Notary Signature and Seal - The Notary Public signs his/her name in the space indicated 

and affixes the notary seal in the space provided to the left of the signature line. 
  

12. Appointment Expiration Date - The expiration date of the Notary Public's appointment. 
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

 


